Naked Faith

Hi there!  Welcome to Listening Down.

And welcome to the much-dreaded first post.  (Much dreaded by me, at least.)

First posts seem a bit like blind dates of sort—people know bits and pieces about the other involved, but have no real idea what the other person is about at their core. Both people are there with hope of getting to know the other, but find it hard to jump into relationship feet first, without reserve. There’s a tentative dance of getting to know each other, revealing carefully selected details here and there, followed by a very gradual move into deeper relationship (if all goes well, and no horrible breach of ettiquette occurs, of course).

Blind dates embody vulnerability. It’s willingly putting the deepest most sensitive parts of yourself out in the open, and waiting for someone else to assess, pick apart, and judge. Like being naked, on a stage, in front of a crowd. Or at the top of the high dive at the Olympics.

Naked, in front of God and everybody.

In many ways, that’s what writing this blog feels like.

Working through faith publicly feels like shining a light on the places that I feel vulnerable. Processing the intersection of seemingly disconnected things like faith, following Jesus, parenting, and homosexuality, and doing so in a public way? Feels even more so.

In the blind date analogy, if things get messy and go badly, or details are revealed that aren’t well received? It’s not the end of the world. Just never call or see the other person again, and be mercifully spared the experience of facing awkward fall out. This blog is different, though. Working through faith here will affect my relationships—family, friendships, church community—for better or worse.

Because of this, I feel incredibly thankful that the call to write and to work through faith in community has been so clear.  Come what may, I’m able to say that I’m responding to what I understand to be Jesus leading, the best I’m able.

So, with that said, welcome! My hope is that this will be a space to reflect on the ways Christ is present each day, and to wrestle with the business of what it means to love the Lord with all our hearts, souls and minds, and to love others as ourselves.  Join me on the vulnerable,exposed journey of working through faith, and in ‘listening down’. I’m glad you’re here, and would love if you let me know that you stopped by.

26 thoughts on “Naked Faith

    • Thanks, Ryan! I’ve appreciated the honesty and courage your bring to exploring faith on your blog, and am excited to have you here.

  1. I am so excited and thrilled to be able to read-along with you and your thoughts and process. Thanks for being willing to be naked, friend.

    • Love that this comes from a former housemate that has a pretty good idea just how much I loathe being publicly naked. 😉 Excited to have you as part of the conversation, Sarai– your gentle spirit, heart of compassion, and drive for justice embody my hopes for this space.

    • Looking forward to hearing some of yours, Melanie! (And I mean that very seriously. I’m hoping that you’ll join in regularly and share your perspective, wisdom and experience.) Glad you’re here!

  2. I am so proud of you and your humble obedient response to the Holy Spirit. Thanks for being vulnerable for spreading the love of Christ through discussons which may not always be easy.

    • Thank you for the kind words, Lory. They feel quite undeserved, for I’m painfully aware of the times I’ve messed up. Glad to have you here and sharing your experience of God’s love and leading, too!

  3. I am looking forward to following your blog. It’ll be like hanging out and having great, deep conversations except, well, you’ll be the only one talking;-) But I’ll be listening, my friend, I’ll be listening.

    • Kind of like last night? 😉 Thanks for supporting me, Sarah. You and my Wednesday night small group are two of the main reasons I believe that it is possible for Christians to love and support each other well, even in places where they may not agree. Glad you’re here, to listen AND share your experiences.

  4. This spiritual “Journey at Sea”, like a physical sea voyage, begins when the last line is cast free. You are underway and, therefore, committed to blue water. Fair winds and following seas Love. But be assured that many of us will be ready to lay on deck and lend a hand when the barometer drops.

    • Thank you, Old Marine! I’m fortunate to have your support, smooth sailing or choppy waters. (Wish I had better sailing imagery to pull from, but I wasn’t really raised in a water-loving family, so…. that’s all I got.) 😉

  5. It can be very easy to loose track of Important Things when one has a lot of other important things going on. What a great way to keep them forefront, and help others to do the same. I look forward to following your blog.

  6. Yay! So EXCITED you started a blog! You are a great writer and I look forward to reading your posts 🙂 Love ya friend! Also, good job following your heart and God in this journey!

    • Aw, thanks, Angie! I’ve really appreciated our conversations about faith, especially in the places where we understand things differently. Looking forward to more of them here!

  7. Love your new site, Kim, and great big kudos to you for stepping out there and giving us a place to “listen down”! Looking forward to “food for thought”! Love You Lots, Sandy

  8. Hi Kim! I have enjoyed reading your posts. I appreciate your God-given vunerability and thought process. I will enjoy following you and reconnecting! Miss you friend.

    • So glad to see you here, Vickie! I definitely miss you and hearing your perspective. Hope to connect more, here and in the ‘real world’, too!

Leave a Reply

